Home » Holiday Hours

Holiday Hours

Regular hours of operation along with contact information for each library branch can be found on the Branches page.

2022 Holiday Hours for the Lafayette Public Library System
(click for downloadable version)

December 23, 2021* Thursday Close at 1:00 (all locations) Christmas Eve (Observed)
December 24, 2021* Friday Closed Christmas Day (Observed)
December 25, 2021 Saturday Closed Christmas Day
December 31, 2021* Friday Closed New Year’s Day (Observed)
January 1, 2022 Saturday Closed New Year’s Day
January 17* Monday Closed Martin Luther King Jr. Day
February 19 Saturday Closed (Main and NRL only) Mardi Gras Dog Parade at 2 (forms at Library) and Mardi Gras Parade 6:30 – parking & access issues. Carencro Mardi Gras Parade at 11 a.m.
February 20February 25 SundayFriday Closed (WRL only)Close at 4:30 (Main Library only) Scott Mardi Gras ParadeCOVID Heroes Parade
February 26 Saturday Closed (Main Library only) Mardi Gras Children’s Parade at 2:00 – forms at Library – parking & access issues
February 27 Sunday Open (SRL, NRL, ERL, WRL, Main Library) Mardi Gras weekend
February 28 Monday Close at 5:00 (Main Library only) Mardi Gras Parade at 6:00 (parking & access issues)
March 1* Tuesday Closed Mardi Gras Day
April 15* Friday Closed Good Friday
April 17 Sunday Closed Easter
April 27 Wednesday Close at 5:00 (Main Library Only) Festival International  6:30-9:30 (parking & access issues)
April 28 Thursday Close at 4:00 (Main Library only) Festival International – 5:30-11:00 (parking & access issues)
April 29 Friday Close at 3:30 (Main Library only) Festival International – 5:45-11:00 (parking & access issues)
April 30 Saturday Closed (Main Library only) Festival International – early morning race, festival 9 a.m. until (parking & access issues)
May 1 Sunday Closed (Main Library only) Festival International – 11:00 – 6:00 (parking & access issues)
May 30* Monday Closed Memorial Day
July 4* Monday Closed Independence Day
August 18 Thursday Closed until TBA (all locations) Full Staff Meeting
September 5* Monday Closed Labor Day
November 23 Wednesday Close at 6:00 (all locations) Day before holiday
November 24* Thursday Closed Thanksgiving
November 25* Friday Closed Acadian Day
December  23* Friday Close at 1:00 Christmas Eve (Observed)
December 24 Saturday Closed Christmas Eve
December 25 Sunday Closed Christmas Day
December 26* Monday Closed Christmas Day (Observed)
January 1, 2023 Sunday Closed New Year’s Day
January 2, 2023 Monday Closed New Year’s Day* (Observed)

 

Schedule may be adjusted should event days/times change. As 2022 event calendars (Mardi Gras, Festival International, etc.) are finalized, the Library Director may make adjustments – generally early closings, late openings – as necessitated by community events that may prevent or otherwise impact patron and staff access to the Main Library.

*Approved 2022 LCG holidays.

Adopted by Library Board of Control at the regular meeting of October 20, 2021.