Minutes of the Meeting of the Lafayette Public Library Board of Control

September 11, 2023

Recordings of all meetings can be found on the Library Board of Control page of the Lafayette Public Library website.

The special meeting of the Lafayette Public Library Board of Control was held in the meeting room on the 2nd floor of the Main Library at 301 West Congress Street on September 11, 2023. James Thomas, Acting President of the Board, called the meeting to order at 6:15 PM.

I. Roll Call and Moment of Silence

<u>Board Members Present</u>: James Thomas, Acting Board President; Robert Judge; Ella Arsement; Daniel Kelly; Erasto Padron; Stephanie Armbruster

Board Members Absent: David Pitre

Other Staff Present: Sarah Monroe, Interim Library Director; Larry Angelle, Library Operations Manager; Nancy Hebert, Administrative Assistant

James Thomas called for a moment of silence.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

James Thomas led the board in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. Unfinished Business

A. Bylaws

A motion to adopt the proposed changes in Article 2 of the bylaws to comply with Ordinance No. PO-034-2023 was made by Robert Judge and seconded by Stephanie Armbruster.

There were no public comments

Yeas: Thomas, Judge, Arsement, Kelly, Padron, Armbruster

Nays: None Abstained: None Absent: Pitre

The motion carries.

B. Northeast Library Land

After board discussion, a motion to purchase 6 acres of the Shadow Bluff property to build the future Northeast Regional was made by Ella Arsement and seconded by James Thomas.

Robert Judge called for an amendment that in conjunction with purchasing the property identified as Shadow Bluff, a leased property is identified to house a temporary facility while the Northeast Library is being constructed. The amendment was not seconded.

Nadiyah Bonnet, Hubert Broussard, Melany Champagne, Wayne Colvin, Frank Crocco, Claire Delcambre, Mitzi Moss Duhon, Andrew Duhon, Cindi Fox, Mary Lib Geurcio, Rickey Hardy, Darline Laughlin, Glenn Lazard, Lynette Meija, Pablo Meija, Christine Menard, Phyllis Mouton, John Mikell, Fhdijah. Rashad, Tiffany Richard, Anne Swanson, and Alton Trahan commented.

Yeas: Thomas, Judge, Arsement, Kelly, Padron, Armbruster

Nays: None Abstained: None Absent: Pitre

The motion carries.

C. Regular Board Meeting Time

A motion to change the time of the regular board meetings from 5:15 PM to 6:00 PM starting with the next board meeting and moving forward was made by Ella Arsement and seconded by James Thomas.

Yeas: Thomas, Judge, Arsement, Kelly, Padron, Armbruster

Nays: None Abstained: None Absent: Pitre

John Mikell and Anne Swanson commented.

The motion carries.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:39 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Sarah Monroe, Interim Secretary