Minutes of the Meeting of the Lafayette Public Library Board of Control

August 24, 2023

Recordings of all meetings can be found on the Library Board of Control page of the Lafayette Public Library website.

The special meeting of the Lafayette Public Library Board of Control was held in the meeting room on the 2nd floor of the Main Library at 301 West Congress Street on August 24, 2023. Robert Judge, President of the Board, called the meeting to order at 5:14 PM.

I. Roll Call and Invocation

<u>Board Members Present</u>: Robert Judge, Board President; Ella Arsement; Daniel Kelly; Erasto Padron; James Thomas, Board Vice President (arrived at 5:20 PM)

Board Members Absent: Stephanie Armbruster; David Pitre

Other Staff Present: Sarah Monroe, Assistant Director; Larry Angelle, Library Operations Manager; Nancy Hebert, Administrative Assistant

The invocation was led by Robert Judge.

II. Pledge of Allegiance

Robert Judge led the board in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

III. Unfinished Business

A. Board will consider Director's Employment Status and take action.

A motion to acknowledge and accept the resignation and retirement of Mr. Gillane and rescind any prior determinations to terminate Mr. Gillane was made by Robert Judge and seconded by Daniel Kelly.

Mary Lib Guercio, Christine Menard, Cindi Fox, Jarred Breaux, Lynette Mejia, Alton Trahan, Claire Delcambre, Anne Swanson, Andrew Duhon, and Wayne Colvin commented.

Yeas: Judge, Arsement, Kelly, Padron, Thomas

Nays: None Abstained: None

Absent: Pitre, Armbruster

The motion carries.

B. Appointment of Interim Director

A motion to appoint Sarah Monroe as interim director for a six-month period with the previous director's salary was made by Robert Judge and seconded by Ella Arsement.

Mary Lib Guercio, Lynette Mejia, and Claire Delcambre commented.

Yeas: Judge, Arsement, Kelly, Padron, Thomas

Nays: None Abstained: None

Absent: Pitre, Armbruster

The motion carries.

IV. Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:42 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Sarah Monroe, Interim Secretary