News You Can Use

Home » Child, Programs, Teen

*Updated Deadline* Writes of Spring Writing Contest

The new deadline for submission is Friday, March 27, 2020
Submission Guidelines 

-The contest is open to students in grades K-12 who reside in Lafayette Parish or in the surrounding parishes: St. Landry, Acadia, St. Martin, Vermilion, and Iberia.

-Students in grades K – 12 can submit original pieces of short fiction, nonfiction, or poetry in English, French, Spanish, or Mandarin in only one of the following genres:
-Poetry (1-3 poems, 100 lines total)
-Fiction (K-6 graders: max 750 words; 7-12 graders: max 1500 words)
-Non-fiction (K-6 graders: max 750 words; 7-12 graders: max 1500 words)

-Students in grades K-6 are encouraged to enter the contest using the online form (LPSS students use LPSS online form). Alternatively, they may also submit a paper entry form and a paper copy of their writing entry. These need to be turned in by the deadline of  Friday, March 27, 2020 (new date!), to any branch of the Lafayette Public Library System.

-All other eligible students (7-12 grade) are required to submit their entries electronically using the online form (LPSS students use LPSS online form). This is a Google Docs form, which requires the use of a Gmail account. If you do not have a Gmail account or Google Docs login, or having difficulties with the form please email for assistance.

-Submissions should be double-spaced with 12-point font.

-Personal information must be removed from submitted work including student’s name, teacher’s name and school’s name.

-Submissions should be renamed to add grade, genre, and title before uploading it. For example: 2nd grade, Fiction, My Life So Far, or 8th grade, Poetry, Cars, Cupcakes, and Curls.

-One entry per person will be accepted. A poetry entry may include 1-3 poems, all submitted as one document.

-First, second and third place winners will be notified in late April before the award ceremonies. The K-6th grade Awards Ceremony date will be Saturday, May 2 starting at 9:00 AM. The 7th-12th grade Awards Ceremony will be Tuesday, April 28 starting at 6:30 PM. Author Ashley Elston will give an author talk following the 7th-12th grade Awards Ceremony and a short reception at 7:00 PM, this event is open to the public.

This contest is a collaboration of the Sigma Tau Delta of UL Lafayette and the Lafayette Public Library.

Online Entry Form

LPSS Students

Click here for downloadable submission form 

Comments are closed.